Why I’m Running for City Council

I know what many people think.  I must be crazy to want to serve the people of Plainfield’s 2nd Ward, a fractious bunch in the best of times.  I must be crazy to think anyone, even in the 2nd Ward, would vote for a Republican.  And I must be crazy to think I can actually make a change for the better, since the Council would still consist of 6 Democrats, and only 1 of me. 

Consider however that most of the outside world thinks the people of Plainfield are crazy now.  They have repeatedly put all their eggs in one basket, by having nothing but Democrats in City Hall.  They have refused to vote for anyone who would put checks and balances back into effect, although American democracy is supposed to be built on checks and balances.  Some of them act like no one but African-Americans should live here.  And they tolerate corruption and ineffectiveness even when, for example, it causes them to lose their only hospital, which was not only a crucial resource, but the biggest employer we had. 

In a state which has a Republican Governor and will soon have a Republican Legislature again, and in a country where Congress and the President will soon be Republican too, some of our people don’t mind being viewed as closed-minded fools, who never listen, and to whom one cannot talk sense.

I don’t really think political parties are as meaningful at the local level as they are at the state and national levels.  Political factions, however, are still very meaningful.  I have never been a right-wing ideologue.  On some subjects, I’m very much the opposite.  Thousands of Plainfielders know who I am, and respect me.  A few of them even like me 🙂

The reason I am running is that Plainfield’s government is a mess, and under all-Democratic rule, always will be.  I happen to like and respect our Mayor, but she will not stand up to powers that want to pull her strings for their own purposes.  Similarly, I like and respect my adversary, but his philosophy is to “go along to get along”, when what the Council needs is one iconoclast, someone willing to make noise and stand up to people and ideas he thinks are wrong.  We need someone who cares what the outside world thinks, and can act as an intermediary with the business world, with Washington, and with Trenton.

Plainfield is worse off than it was 4, 8, 12, 16 or 20 years ago.  We are taken for granted, and typically ignored, because most of our people vote for Democrats every single time, whether they are doing us any good or not.  We need to cut our City budget by $10,000,000, and thereby cut our outrageous property-tax rate.  We need to let our population fall by 20% over the next 20 years, because that is the only way we can cut our budget. 

I readily acknowledge the totally honorable service given us by Cory Storch, a two-term incumbent.  I submit however that he is tapped out, and has nothing more to offer us.  Whatever he was capable of is yesterday’s news now.

If elected, I will be the swing vote on the Council, for it will have three “Old Democrats”, and three “New Democrats”.  I will also most likely go back onto the Planning Board, where I could do even more good, being an experienced attorney and urban planner myself.  Indeed, when I lost my Planning Board seat in 2000, after 6 years of what I think everyone agreed was exemplary service and strong leadership, who was it given to?  Cory!!  I will always vote, on the Council and on the Planning Board, for whomever and whatever I think is the smartest thing.

I am running for Council because we need change.  I would bring us tremendous, immediate, positive publicity, just by being elected, and by breaking the Democratic monopoly that is strangling our City.  If you want modesty and meek cooperation, vote for Cory.  If you want leadership and expertise, checks and balances, vote for me.

It’s simply time to give someone else a chance, for a change.  Someone who isn’t in lockstep with failed leaders and policies.   Someone who can upgrade the whole operation, just by being there. That’s why I’m running for Council.  Vote for Bill Michelson on November 8.

About William H. Michelson

I'm running for the Plainfield City Council, 2nd Ward, on the GOP ticket. I'm a lawyer, and I'm also a planner. I have been heavily involved in local affairs for many years, including the Planning Board, and the Historic Preservation Commission (both are formal land-use boards with regulatory power), of which I am currently Vice-Chairman. I have restored two of Plainfield's grandest historic homes and have long been a leader in the historic preservation community. I'm an independent thinker and would be the first non-Democrat on the Council in years. That makes me the "checks and balances" candidate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Why I’m Running for City Council

  1. Rebecca Williams says:

    I really take exception to your comment, “And I must be crazy to think I can actually make a change for the better, since the Council would still consist of 6 Black Democrats, and only 1 of me.” You seem to suggest that “Black Democrats” cannot make a “change for the better,” as you are lumping us all in together, as if there is no distinction between us, since we’re all “Black.” I am quite different from the other folks on the council–ALL of them. Do not ever reduce me to my racial background (I am biracial, by the way). If all you see when you look at me is one of six “Black Democrats,” you are quite short-sighted.

    Rebecca

    • I started my comments with “I know what many people think”. My point was not what I see when I look at our City Council, but what the rest of New Jersey sees, not to mention a goodly number of Plainfielders who think we need more political diversity. While I intend no offense to anyone, it is time to acknowledge that we have a problem. Every time I hear someone say “my children will be of school age soon, I have to get out of here!” (and this has happened many times), I cringe.

  2. Jan J says:

    Hi Bill,
    Interesting idea that if our population fell dramatically it would reduce our property taxes. Perhaps so in terms of reduced need for services, but what about the impact of all those empty houses? ,

    • Most of them won’t be empty. What we need is much stronger code enforcement, to cut down on the number of individuals who live in many houses now. This has been a political football around here for years, but to me, it is among our highest priorities. There are also quite a few obsolete, ugly structures which I would happily sacrifice, to make those properties available for new economic redevelopment, or for new houses with fewer dwelling units. I also think the time has come to address why we still have public housing, and I will devote an upcoming article to that topic.

  3. Nat Singleton says:

    Bill, I don’t know what planet you came from, what planet you were born on or what plant you live on. You give meaning to the phrase ‘the banality of evil.’ Go to the mirror; look at it. The reflection cast in it is the the personification of what a racist is.

    • “Racist”: a word used by some Black people to insult White people who have said anything they do not like, no matter what the topic. Also used by ultraliberals to squelch others whose opinions they do not respect. Use of this simple epithet is a highly efficient way to indicate that the person saying it does not want his mind to be opened, and demands that the target person shut up at once, lest someone else actually want to hear whatever was being discussed. It reminds me of why most people won’t say “God damn (someone)”. There was an old superstition that saying it would actually cause God to do so, kind of an incantation.

      Thank you, Nat. for your years of service as a Commissioner of the PMUA. You sure did a fine job of keeping it lean, clean, and cost-effective. Unlike people like me who have given equally important service on Boards and Commissions, you got paid rather nicely for it, out of taxpayer dollars, and I presume, are now on pension for it. It is therefore reassuring to see your articulate and sensitive commentary on my blog article. I’ll bet you hold even more advanced degrees and credentials than I do. I wonder how those were paid for.

      To answer your most vital question, I was born on Planet Long Island. Even though we moved to North Jersey when I was 13, and I later lived for 10 years in Iowa, I am still vulnerable to blue kryptonite, a substance only found in a handful of places in Queens and Nassau Counties. I would ask what I could have said that deserved your fulsome compliments, but that would imply that you thought them through before posting them to my blog.

  4. Bernice Paglia says:

    Bill, you would not automatically get your seat back on the Planning Board. You would have to have the support of the council to be liaison to the Planning Board. As I recall, Cory was off for a time until he regained the necessary support

    • Bernice, you are correct that I would have to be appointed by the rest of the Council. Having one Councilperson on the Planning Board is prescribed by New Jersey statute, and it’s an excellent provision. I would request that assignment, which involves plenty of work every month. I believe that my colleagues would be happy to give it to one who volunteers, and is already experienced as a member of that Board. That is precisely why Cory has been on the Board for all these years.

  5. Julie Jerome says:

    Bill, just a reminder one of the last republican candidates who ran for office received support from many democrats as he was and still is a well respected member of our community whom it was felt would be a great representative of our city. Certainly not voting the party line…

  6. Bill Kruse says:

    As 1 of 13 registered Republicans in Plainfield, and 1 of 5 who will publicly admit it, I welcomed your candidacy. Given that the city administration is arguably at its historic nadir, resulting in widespread discontent, it was a remote hope that a sufficient number of citizens would cross traditional party lines with the anticipation of breathing some fresh life into our community. Your comment on population reduction is so unrealistic as to border on bizarre. The kindest thing that can be said about your racial reference to the City Council is that it was impolitic. It appears that our best hope of breaking the grip of the current inept Democrat regulars is through the New Democrats who with a scintilla of cooperation from the Mayor could have accomplished some effective reforms..

    • There are about 500 registered Republicans in the 2nd Ward, and maybe 100 in the other three wards. This is the result of two things. One is that there has been virtually no functioning Republican organization here, ever since I and a number of my colleagues walked out after a 2003 squabble. It was a lot like the Old Dem-New Dem split. I only came back in after I got involved in Chris Christie’s 2009 race. The other is that a large part of our population is so beholden to their self-proclaimed “leaders” that they mindlessly vote the Dem line, in every election, all the time. That gives them what they deserve–a City government full of politicians that do nothing for them, because it takes them for granted. It was interesting that, when we had Milt Campbell running for State Senate on the GOP ticket, suddenly districts that usually vote 5-10% Republican voted 30-40% for him. What I object to is that some residfents vote in a mindless way. I can live with conscious choices about whom they want in office, and whatever their reasons may be. I will never stop criticizing those who vote without thought, based just on what someone told them to do, or pursuant to “street money”, which the State should banish.

      Population reduction was one of the centerpieces of our 1998 Master Plan (the first one in 30 years) and the 2002 Land Use Ordinance (ditto), both of which I played a large part in writing. What is so strange about it? In many neighborhoods, people came out to talk to the Planning Board (of which I was vice-chair) specifically to ask about that. Fewer people on one’s block translates to less parking, less noise, less teenagers hanging around looking for something to do, and less claustrophobia. My main target in this regard is multifamily houses which have never been approved for that use, and crowding by too many people living in the available rooms. These are issues for inspections, and for the certificate of occupancy process, when new owners or new tenants come along. We also “downzoned” most of the city by requiring larger lots than were previously required. People should have at least a little back yard, a little lawn, a little room for their cars, and a little space to sit outside on a nice day.

      I have given up asking myself if I prefer the New Dems over the Old Dems, or vice versa. I do not think either one did a better job than the other, as their control over the City has shifted back and forth. What I do think would shake things up around here is that, if I am elected, I will be the “swing vote” on an otherwise 3-3 Council. Whoever gives me a better alternative, on any particular issue, will win my vote.

  7. Nat Singleton says:

    Short of yelling ‘fire’ in a movie theater, you’re free to say anything you want. There is no way in hell that I want you to stop talking and or writing. It’s just more gist for the mill. And, I’m sure you don’t mind me commenting on your public statements.
    Bill, please feel free to OPRA records of my PMUA service and publish them, all of them. Lord only knows they paid us an extraordinary amount of money, $400 per month, mandated by the state, to compensate us for the free time we gave up to serve and I may have served long enough to collect $50 a month from the state when I retire. I can live high on the hog on that. $50/month until I drop dead, ohhwee.
    As to my advanced degrees, I have a BA in Economics. I did start out majoring in Physics and Chemistry. However, I had to work full time and carry a full credit load (no school, your ass went to Vietnam) so I switched to Economics and as a result, tend to be much more a Keynesian than a Hayekian which you seem to be.
    PS: I paid for my college education. Who paid for yours?
    You are correct, other than your racist comments; I spent precious little time, actually no time, in responding to your post. Your comments are ill conceived, uniformed, don’t pass muster and I don’t think I’ll play Rochester to your Benny; after all you’re no Jack Benny –hmmm, I wonder if this comment is racist. You be the judge let me know..

  8. Keeping It Real says:

    No sarcasm intended when I say I love the spirited debate!

    Although I don’t agree with Mr. Michelson’s inflammatory comments regarding race; I do believe that he makes some valid points regarding education, code enforcement, the reduction in population and I appreciate his fearlessness in addressing issues which many in Plainfield are afraid to comment upon at the risk of being classified as “racist”, whether black or white.

    The unfortunate truth, as I see it, is that many folks here continually play the race card; all you need to do is attend a city council meeting to hear certain active community members talk in “code”, and deliver their “sermons” with a full subtext. It’s sad. Very sad and destructive.

    Plainfield’s 2 prominent leaders perpetuate an “us vs. them” attitude — whether it’s rich vs. poor, or white vs. black vs. latino. We are a community and we are all human beings and we all need to work together. The divisiveness created by many in the leadership positions is toxic and make the weakest among us even weaker and more dependent than ever.

    The conversation needs to be kept honest, sincere, genuine and real. Maybe then we can move on.

    Try and keep it productive.

    Thanks.

    • Thank you for noticing my true purpose, which is to open up the airless box into which free speech and legitimate public discussion have been stuffed by the agents of political correctness. I always try to “keep it productive”. But what did I ever say that could be called “inflammatory”? A pure observation of fact or two? The only mistake I believe I made was to “tweak” my September 25 blog article, after I feared that I had hurt Councilwoman Rebecca Williams’ feelings. I should have left it as it originally read. But to the extent that she, or anyone else, simply didn’t like the content of what I said, they have only proven that it’s about time someone voiced it.

      As a lawyer, I sometimes tell people that I will never stab them in the back; if I want to stab them at all, I will do it in the front. “Fearlessness” is a word I gratefully accept as a compliment. If I am elected to Council, you will see plenty of that.

Leave a comment